Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0539. இகழ்ச்சியின் கெட்டாரை உள்ளுக

0539. Igazhchchiyin Kettaarai Ulluga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொச்சாவாமை (Pochaavaamai)
  • குறள்
    இகழ்ச்சியின் கெட்டாரை உள்ளுக தாந்தம்
    மகிழ்ச்சியின் மைந்துறும் போழ்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    அரசன், தன் மகிழ்ச்சியினால் செருக்குற்றிருக்கும்போது, அம்மகிழ்ச்சி காரணமாக உண்டான மறதியால் கெட்டவர்களை நினைக்க வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Think on the men whom scornful mind hath brought to nought,
    When exultation overwhelms thy wildered thought.
  • Meaning
    Let (a king) think of those who have been ruined by neglect, when his mind is elated with joy.


Post a Comment