Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0432. இவறலும் மாண்பிறந்த மானமும்

0432. Ivaralum Maanpirandha Maanamum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    குற்றங்கடிதல் (Kutrankadithal)
    The Correction of Faults
  • குறள்
    இவறலும் மாண்பிறந்த மானமும் மாணா
    உவகையும் ஏதம் இறைக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    உலோப குணமும், நன்மை தருதலில்லாத மானமும், அளவு கடந்த மகிழ்ச்சியும் மன்னனுக்குக் குற்றமாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    A niggard hand, o'erweening self-regard, and mirth
    Unseemly, bring disgrace to men of kingly brith.
  • Meaning
    Avarice, undignified pride, and low pleasures are faults in a king.


Post a Comment