Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0431. செருக்குஞ் சினமும் சிறுமையும்

0431. Cherukkunj Chinamum Chirumaiyum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    குற்றங்கடிதல் (Kutrankadithal)
    The Correction of Faults
  • குறள்
    செருக்குஞ் சினமும் சிறுமையும் இல்லார்
    பெருக்கம் பெருமித நீர்த்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    அகந்தை, கோபம், காமம் ஆகிய குற்றங்கள் இல்லாத மன்னரது செல்வம், மற்றவர் செல்வத்தைக் காட்டிலும் மேம்பட்டுத் தோன்றும் தன்மையுடையது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who arrogance, and wrath, and littleness of low desire restrain,
    To sure increase of lofty dignity attain.
  • Meaning
    Truly great is the excellence of those (kings) who are free from pride, anger, and lust.


Post a Comment