Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0420. செவியிற் சுவையுணரா வாயுணர்வின்

0420. Seviyir Suvaiyunaraa Vaayunarvin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கேள்வி (Kelvi)
  • குறள்
    செவியிற் சுவையுணரா வாயுணர்வின் மாக்கள்
    அவியினும் வாழினும் என்.
  • விளக்கம்
    செவியினால் நுகரப்படும் சுவையுணர்வை அறியாது, வாயினால் உண்ணப்படும் உணவின் சுவையை மட்டும் அறியும் மக்கள் இறந்தாலும், உயிர் வாழ்ந்தாலும் என்ன பயன்?
  • Translation
    in English
    His mouth can taste, but ear no taste of joy can give!
    What matter if he die, or prosperous live?
  • Meaning
    What does it matter whether those men live or die, who can judge of tastes by the mouth, and not by the ear ?


Post a Comment