Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0411. செல்வத்துட் செல்வஞ் செவிச்செல்வம்

0411. Selvaththut Selvanj Sevichchelvam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கேள்வி (Kelvi)
  • குறள்
    செல்வத்துட் செல்வஞ் செவிச்செல்வம் அச்செல்வம்
    செல்வத்து ளெல்லாந் தலை.
  • விளக்கம்
    செல்வங்களுள் சிறப்புடைய செல்வமாவது கேள்விச் செல்வம். அக்கேள்விச் செல்வம் செல்வங்களிலெல்லாம் முதன்மையானது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Wealth of wealth is wealth acquired be ear attent;
    Wealth mid all wealth supremely excellent.
  • Meaning
    Wealth (gained) by the ear is wealth of wealth; that wealth is the chief of all wealth.


Post a Comment