Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0397. யாதானும் நாடாமால் ஊராமால்

0397. Yaathaanum Naadaamaal Ooraamaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கல்வி (Kalvi)
  • குறள்
    யாதானும் நாடாமால் ஊராமால் என்னொருவன்
    சாந்துணையுங் கல்லாத வாறு.
  • விளக்கம்
    கற்றவனுக்கு எந்த ஒரு நாடும், எந்த ஓர் ஊரும் தன் நாடும், தன் ஊருமாகும். அவ்வாறிருக்க, ஒருவன் சாகுமளவும் கற்காதிருப்பது ஏன்?
  • Translation
    in English
    The learned make each land their own, in every city find a home;
    Who, till they die; learn nought, along what weary ways they roam!
  • Meaning
    How is it that any one can remain without learning, even to his death, when (to the learned man) every country is his own (country), and every town his own (town) ?


Post a Comment