Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0396. தொட்டனைத் தூறும் மணற்கேணி

0396. Thottanaith Thoorum Manarkeni

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கல்வி (Kalvi)
  • குறள்
    தொட்டனைத் தூறும் மணற்கேணி மாந்தர்க்குக்
    கற்றனைத் தூறும் அறிவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மணலிடத்துள்ள கேணி தோண்டிய அளவுக்கேற்ப நீர் ஊரும்; அதுபோல மக்களுக்கு அவர்கள் கற்ற அளவுக்கேற்ப அறிவு பெருகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    In sandy soil, when deep you delve, you reach the springs below;
    The more you learn, the freer streams of wisdom flow.
  • Meaning
    Water will flow from a well in the sand in proportion to the depth to which it is dug, and knowledge will flow from a man in proportion to his learning.


Post a Comment