Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0326. கொல்லாமை மேற்கொண் டொழுகுவான்

0326. Kollaamai Merkon Dozhuguvaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    Not Killing
  • குறள்
    கொல்லாமை மேற்கொண் டொழுகுவான் வாழ்நாள்மேல்
    செல்லாது உயிருண்ணுங் கூற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    உயிர்களைக் கொண்டு செல்லும் இயமன், கொல்லாமையாகிய விரதத்தைக் கடைப்பிடித்து நடப்பவனது உயிரைக் கவரமாட்டான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Ev'n death that life devours, their happy days shall spare,
    Who law, 'Thou shall not kill', uphold with reverent care.
  • Meaning
    Yama, the destroyer of life, will not attack the life of him, who acts under the determination of never destroying life.


Post a Comment