Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0325. நிலைஅஞ்சி நீத்தாருள் எல்லாம்

0325. NilaiAnji Neeththaarul Ellaam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    Not Killing
  • குறள்
    நிலைஅஞ்சி நீத்தாருள் எல்லாம் கொலைஅஞ்சிக்
    கொல்லாமை சூழ்வான் தலை.
  • விளக்கம்
    கொலைப் பாவத்திற்கு அஞ்சிக் கொல்லாமையாகிய அறத்தைப் போற்றுபவனே, பிறப்பிற்கு அஞ்சித் துறவறம் பூண்டார் எல்லாருள்ளும் சிறந்தவன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Of those who 'being' dread, and all renounce, the chief are they,
    Who dreading crime of slaughter, study nought to slay.
  • Meaning
    Of all those who, fearing the permanence of earthly births, have abandoned desire, he is the chief who, fearing (the guilt of) murder, considers how he may avoid the destruction of life.


Post a Comment