Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0310. இறந்தார் இறந்தார் அனையர்

0310. Irandhaar Irandhaar Anaiyar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Not Being Angry
  • குறள்
    இறந்தார் இறந்தார் அனையர் சினத்தைத்
    துறந்தார் துறந்தார் துணை.
  • விளக்கம்
    சினம்மிக்கவர், உயிருடையராயினும் செத்தாரோடு ஒப்பாவர்; சினத்தை ஒழித்தவர் சாதலை ஒழித்தவரோடு ஒப்பாவார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Men of surpassing wrath are like the men who've passed away;
    Who wrath renounce, equals of all-renouncing sages they.
  • Meaning
    Those, who give way to excessive anger, are no better than dead men; but those, who are freed from it, are equal to those who are freed (from death).


Post a Comment