Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0309. உள்ளிய தெல்லாம் உடனெய்தும்

0309. Ulliya Thellaam Udaneithum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Not Being Angry
  • குறள்
    உள்ளிய தெல்லாம் உடனெய்தும் உள்ளத்தால்
    உள்ளான் வெகுளி எனின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் தன் மனத்தினால் ஒருபோதும் சினத்தை நினைக்காமல் இருப்பானானால், அவனுக்கு நினைத்தவை எல்லாம் கைகூடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    If man his soul preserve from wrathful fires,
    He gains with that whate'er his soul desires.
  • Meaning
    If a man never indulges anger in his heart, he will at once obtain whatever he has thought of.


Post a Comment