Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0293. தன்நெஞ் சறிவது பொய்யற்க

0293. Thannenj Charivathu Poiyarka

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    தன்நெஞ் சறிவது பொய்யற்க பொய்த்தபின்
    தன்நெஞ்சே தன்னைச் சுடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன் தான் பொய்யென்று அறிந்த ஒன்றைப் பிறர் அறியவில்லை என்று மறைப்பது தவறு; மறைத்தபின் அவனது நெஞ்சே அவனை வருத்தும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Speak not a word which false thy own heart knows
    Self-kindled fire within the false one's spirit glows.
  • Meaning
    Let not a man knowingly tell a lie; for after he has told the lie, his mind will burn him (with the memory of his guilt).


Post a Comment