Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1311. பெண்ணியலார் எல்லாரும் கண்ணின்

1311. Penniyalaar Ellaarum Kannin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி நுணுக்கம் (Pulavi Nunukkam)
    Feigned Anger
  • குறள்
    பெண்ணியலார் எல்லாரும் கண்ணின் பொதுஉண்பர்
    நண்ணேன் பரத்தநின் மார்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பரத்தைமை உடையானே! பெண் தன்மையுடையவர் எல்லாரும் தமது கண்களால் பொதுவாக உன்னை அனுபவிப்பர்; ஆகையால், நான் உன் மார்பைச் சேரமாட்டேன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    From thy regard all womankind Enjoys an equal grace;
    O thou of wandering fickle mind, I shrink from thine embrace!
  • Meaning
    You are given to prostitution; all those who are born as womankind enjoy you with their eyes in an ordinary way. I will not embrace you.


Post a Comment