Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1306. துனியும் புலவியும் இல்லாயின்

1306. Thuniyum Pulaviyum Illaayin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலவி (Pulavi)
  • குறள்
    துனியும் புலவியும் இல்லாயின் காமம்
    கனியும் கருக்காயும் அற்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    பெரும் பிணக்கும் சிறுபிணக்கும் இல்லையாயின் காதல் இன்பம், மிகப்பழுத்த கனியும் இளங்காயும் போலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Love without hatred is ripened fruit;
    Without some lesser strife, fruit immature.
  • Meaning
    Sexual pleasure, without prolonged and short-lived dislike, is like too ripe, and unripe fruit.


Post a Comment