Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1286. காணுங்கால் காணேன் தவறாய

1286. Kaanunkaal Kaanen Thavaraaya

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புணர்ச்சி விதும்பல் (Punarchchi Vithumbal)
    Desire for Reunion
  • குறள்
    காணுங்கால் காணேன் தவறாய காணாக்கால்
    காணேன் தவறல் லவை.
  • விளக்கம்
    கணவரைக் காணும்போது அவரிடத்தில் உள்ள குற்றங்களை நான் காண்பதில்லை. அவரைக் காணாதபோது, குற்றங்களல்லாதவற்றைக் காண்கின்றிலேன்.
  • Translation
    in English
    When him I see, to all his faults I 'm blind;
    But when I see him not, nothing but faults I find.
  • Meaning
    When I see my husband, I do not see any faults; but when I do not see him, I do not see anything but faults.


Post a Comment