Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1283. பேணாது பெட்பவே செய்யினும்

1283. Penaathu Petpave Seiyinum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புணர்ச்சி விதும்பல் (Punarchchi Vithumbal)
    Desire for Reunion
  • குறள்
    பேணாது பெட்பவே செய்யினும் கொண்கனைக்
    காணா தமையல கண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கணவர் என்னைப் பேணாது அவமதித்துத் தாம் விரும்பியவற்றையே செய்தாலும், கணவரைப் பார்க்காமல் என் கண்களால் இருக்க முடியவில்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Although his will his only law, he lightly value me,
    My heart knows no repose unless my lord I see.
  • Meaning
    Though my eyes disregard me and do what is pleasing to my husband, still will they not be satisfied unless they see him.


Post a Comment