Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1261. வாளற்றுப் புற்கென்ற கண்ணும்

1261. Vaalatrup Purkendra Kannum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவர்வயின் விதும்பல் (Avarvayin Vithumbal)
    Mutual Desire
  • குறள்
    வாளற்றுப் புற்கென்ற கண்ணும் அவர்சென்ற
    நாளொற்றித் தேய்ந்த விரல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலர் சென்ற நாட்களை உணர்த்தும் கோடுகளைத் தொட்டு எண்ணியமையால் என் விரல்கள் தேய்ந்தன. அவரது வருகையை எதிர்பார்த்து என் கண்களும் ஒளியிழந்து மங்கின.
  • Translation
    in English
    My eyes have lost their brightness, sight is dimmed; my fingers worn,
    With nothing on the wall the days since I was left forlorn.
  • Meaning
    My finger has worn away by marking (on the wall) the days he has been absent while my eyes have lost their lustre and begin to fail.


Post a Comment