Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1204. யாமும் உளேங்கொல் அவர்நெஞ்சத்து

1204. Yaamum Ulankol Avarnenjaththu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    நினைந்தவர் புலம்பல் (Ninaindhavar Pulambal)
    Sad Memories
  • குறள்
    யாமும் உளேங்கொல் அவர்நெஞ்சத்து எந்நெஞ்சத்து
    ஓஒ உளரே அவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எமது மனத்தில் அவர் எப்பொழுதும் இருக்கின்றார்; அவ்வாறே அவர் மனத்திலும் நாமும் இருக்கின்றோமோ?
  • Translation
    in English
    Have I a place within his heart!
    From mine, alas! he never doth depart.
  • Meaning
    He continues to abide in my soul, do I likewise abide in his ?


Post a Comment