Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1192. வாழ்வார்க்கு வானம் பயந்தற்றால்

1192. Vaazhvaarkku Vaanam Payanthatraal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    தனிப்படர் மிகுதி (Thanippadar Miguthi)
    The Solitary Anguish
  • குறள்
    வாழ்வார்க்கு வானம் பயந்தற்றால் வீழ்வார்க்கு
    வீழ்வார் அளிக்கும் அளி.
  • விளக்கம்
    காதலிக்கின்ற பெண்களுக்கு அவரைக் காதலிக்கின்ற கணவர் செய்யும் கருணையானது, உயிர் வாழ்கின்றவர்களுக்கு மழை அளவறிந்து பெய்தது போலாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    As heaven on living men showers blessings from above,
    Is tender grace by lovers shown to those they love.
  • Meaning
    The bestowal of love by the beloved on those who love them is like the rain raining (at the proper season) on those who live by it.


Post a Comment