Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1174. பெயலாற்றா நீருலந்த உண்கண்

1174. Peyalaatraa Neerulandha unkan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    கற்பியல் (Karpiyal) - The Post-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    கண்விதுப்பழிதல் (Kanvithuppazhithal)
    Eyes Consumed with Grief
  • குறள்
    பெயலாற்றா நீருலந்த உண்கண் உயலாற்றா
    உய்வில்நோய் என்கண் நிறுத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    எம் மையுண்ட கண்கள் யான் பிழைக்க முடியாதபடி நோயை எனக்கு உண்டாக்கிவிட்டுத் தாமும் அழமுடியாதபடி கண்ணீர் வற்றி விட்டன.
  • Translation
    in English
    Those eyes have wept till all the fount of tears is dry,
    That brought upon me pain that knows no remedy.
  • Meaning
    These painted eyes have caused me a lasting mortal disease; and now they can weep no more, the tears having dried up.


Post a Comment