Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1108. வீழும் இருவர்க்கு இனிதே

1108. Veezhum Iruvarkku Inithe

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புணர்ச்சி மகிழ்தல் (Punarchchi Magizhthal)
    Rejoicing in the Embrace
  • குறள்
    வீழும் இருவர்க்கு இனிதே வளியிடை
    போழப் படாஅ முயக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    காற்றும் இடையே சென்று பிரிக்க முடியாதபடி இறுக்கமாகத் தழுவுதல், ஒருவரை ஒருவர் விரும்புகின்ற இருவருக்கும் இனிதாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Sweet is the strict embrace of those whom fond affection binds,
    Where no dissevering breath of discord entrance finds.
  • Meaning
    To ardent lovers sweet is the embrace that cannot be penetrated even by a breath of breeze.


Post a Comment