Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1101. கண்டுகேட்டு உண்டுயிர்த்து உற்றறியும்

1101. Kandukettu Unduyirththu Utrariyum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    புணர்ச்சி மகிழ்தல் (Punarchchi Magizhthal)
    Rejoicing in the Embrace
  • குறள்
    கண்டுகேட்டு உண்டுயிர்த்து உற்றறியும் ஐம்புலனும்
    ஒண்தொடி கண்ணே உள.
  • விளக்கம்
    கண்டும், கேட்டும், உண்டும், மோந்தும், தீண்டியும் அனுபவிக்கப்படும் ஐம்புல இன்பங்களும் விளங்குகின்ற வளையணிந்த இவளிடத்தே விளங்குகின்றன.
  • Translation
    in English
    All joys that senses five- sight, hearing, taste, smell, touch- can give,
    In this resplendent armlets-bearing damsel live!
  • Meaning
    The (simultaneous) enjoyment of the five senses of sight, hearing, taste, smell and touch can only be found with bright braceleted (women).


Post a Comment