Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1099. ஏதிலார் போலப் பொதுநோக்கு

1099. Yethilaar Polap Pothunokku

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    குறிப்பறிதல் (Kuripparithal)
    Recognition of the Signs (of Mutual Love)
  • குறள்
    ஏதிலார் போலப் பொதுநோக்கு நோக்குதல்
    காதலார் கண்ணே உள.
  • விளக்கம்
    வெளியே அயலார்போல ஒருவரை ஒருவர் பார்த்தல், காதல் உடையவர்களிடத்தில் உள்ள ஓர் இயல்பாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The look indifferent, that would its love disguise,
    Is only read aright by lovers' eyes.
  • Meaning
    Both the lovers are capable of looking at each other in an ordinary way, as if they were perfect strangers.


Post a Comment