Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1087. கடாஅக் களிற்றின்மேற் கட்படாம்

1087. Kadaaak Kalitrinmer Katpadaam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    இன்பத்துப்பால் (Inbaththuppaal) - Love
  • இயல்
    களவியல் (Kalaviyal) - The Pre-Marital Love
  • அதிகாரம்
    தகையணங்குறுத்தல் (Thagaiyanangkuruththal)
    Beauty's Dart
  • குறள்
    கடாஅக் களிற்றின்மேற் கட்படாம் மாதர்
    படாஅ முலைமேல் துகில்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இப்பெண்ணின் நிமிர்ந்த முலைமேலிட்ட ஆடை, மதயானையின் மேலிட்ட முகபடாம் போன்றது.
  • Translation
    in English
    As veil o'er angry eyes Of raging elephant that lies,
    The silken cincture's folds invest This maiden's panting breast.
  • Meaning
    The cloth that covers the firm bosom of this maiden is (like) that which covers the eyes of a rutting elephant.


Post a Comment