Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1056. கரப்பிடும்பை யில்லாரைக் காணின்

1056. Karappidumbai Yilaaraik Kaanin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    இரவு (Iravu)
  • குறள்
    கரப்பிடும்பை யில்லாரைக் காணின் நிரப்பிடும்பை
    எல்லாம் ஒருங்கு கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தம்மிடம் உள்ளதை ஒளிக்கும் குற்றம் இல்லாதவரைக் கண்டால், வறுமையால் வரும் துன்பங்களெல்லாம் ஒருங்கே ஒழியும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    It those you find from evil of 'denial' free,
    At once all plague of poverty will flee.
  • Meaning
    All the evil of begging will be removed at the sight of those who are far from the evil of refusing.


Post a Comment