Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1051. இரக்க இரத்தக்கார்க் காணின்

1051. Irakka Iraththakkaark Kaanin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    இரவு (Iravu)
  • குறள்
    இரக்க இரத்தக்கார்க் காணின் கரப்பின்
    அவர்பழி தம்பழி அன்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    வறியவர் பொருள் கொடுக்கக் கூடியவரைக் கண்டால், அவரிடத்தில் இரத்தலைச் செய்யலாம். அவர் பொருள் கொடுக்க மறுப்பாராயின், அஃது அவர்க்குப் பழியேயன்றி, இரந்தவர்க்காகாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    When those you find from whom 'tis meet to ask,- for aid apply;
    Theirs is the sin, not yours, if they the gift deny.
  • Meaning
    If you meet with those that may be begged of, you may beg; (but) if they withhold (their gift) it is their blame and not yours.


Post a Comment