Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1039. செல்லான் கிழவன் இருப்பின்

1039. Sellaan Kizhavan Iruppin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    உழவு (Uzhavu)
  • குறள்
    செல்லான் கிழவன் இருப்பின் நிலம்புலந்து
    இல்லாளின் ஊடி விடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    நிலத்துக்கு உரியவன் சென்று நிலத்தைப் பார்க்காதிருந்தால் நிலம் மனைவியைப் போல் வெறுத்துப் பிணங்கிவிடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    When master from the field aloof hath stood;
    Then land will sulk, like wife in angry mood.
  • Meaning
    If the owner does not (personally) attend to his cultivation, his land will behave like an angry wife and yield him no pleasure.


Post a Comment