Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1034. பலகுடை நீழலும் தங்குடைக்கீழ்க்

1034. Palakudai Neezhalum Thangudaikkeezhk

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    உழவு (Uzhavu)
  • குறள்
    பலகுடை நீழலும் தங்குடைக்கீழ்க் காண்பர்
    அலகுடை நீழ லவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    உழுதலால் நெல்லையுடைய உழவர், உலகம் முழுவதிலுமுள்ள பல அரசர் நாட்டையும் தமது அரசரின் குடைக்கீழாகக் காண்பர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    O'er many a land they 'll see their monarch reign,
    Whose fields are shaded by the waving grain.
  • Meaning
    Patriotic farmers desire to bring all other states under the control of their own king.


Post a Comment