Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

1030. இடுக்கண்கால் கொன்றிட வீழும்

1030. Idukkankaal Kondrida Veezhum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    குடிசெயல் வகை (KudiSeyal Vagai)
    The Way of Maintaining the Family
  • குறள்
    இடுக்கண்கால் கொன்றிட வீழும் அடுத்தூன்றும்
    நல்லாள் இலாத குடி.
  • விளக்கம்
    தாங்கவல்ல நல்ல ஆண்மகன் இல்லாத குடும்பம், துன்பமாகிய கோடரி அடியை வெட்டிச் சாய்க்க விழுந்து விடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    When trouble the foundation saps the house must fall,
    If no strong hand be nigh to prop the tottering wall.
  • Meaning
    If there are none to prop up and maintain a family (in distress), it will fall at the stroke of the axe of


Post a Comment