Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0984. கொல்லா நலத்தது நோன்மை

0984. Kollaa Nalaththathu Nonmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    சான்றாண்மை (Saandraanmai)
  • குறள்
    கொல்லா நலத்தது நோன்மை பிறர்தீமை
    சொல்லா நலத்தது சால்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    கொல்லாமையாகிய அறத்தினைக் கொண்டிருப்பது தவம். பிறருடைய குற்றத்தை எடுத்துச் சொல்லாதிருப்பது சால்பு.
  • Translation
    in English
    The type of 'penitence' is virtuous good that nothing slays;
    To speak no ill of other men is perfect virtue's praise.
  • Meaning
    Penance consists in the goodness that kills not , and perfection in the goodness that tells not others' faults.


Post a Comment