Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0979. பெருமை பெருமிதம் இன்மை

0979. Perumai Perumitham Inmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெருமை (Perumai)
  • குறள்
    பெருமை பெருமிதம் இன்மை சிறுமை
    பெருமிதம் ஊர்ந்து விடல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பெருமைக் குணமாவது செருக்கிலா திருத்தல்; சிறுமைக் குணமாவது அச்செருக்கினை அளவின்றிக் கொண்டிருத்தல்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Greatness is absence of conceit; meanness, we deem,
    Riding on car of vanity supreme.
  • Meaning
    Freedom from conceit is (the nature of true) greatness; (while) obstinacy therein is (that of) meanness.


Post a Comment