Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0971. ஒளிஒருவற்கு உள்ள வெறுக்கை

0971. Olioruvarku Ulla Verukkai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெருமை (Perumai)
  • குறள்
    ஒளிஒருவற்கு உள்ள வெறுக்கை இளிஒருவற்கு
    அஃதிறந்து வாழ்தும் எனல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவனது பெருமைக்குக் காரணம், மற்றவர் செய்ய முடியாதவற்றைத் தான் செய்யக் கருதும் ஊக்கமிகுதி; ஒருவனுக்குத் தாழ்வாவது, அவ்வாறு செய்யமுயலாது வாழ்வோம் என நினைத்தல்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The light of life is mental energy; disgrace is his
    Who says, 'I 'ill lead a happy life devoid of this.'
  • Meaning
    One's light is the abundance of one's courage; one's darkness is the desire to live destitute of such (a state of mind.)


Post a Comment