Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0969. மயிர்நீப்பின் வாழாக் கவரிமா

0969. Mayirneeppin Vaazhaak Kavarimaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    மானம் (Maanam)
  • குறள்
    மயிர்நீப்பின் வாழாக் கவரிமா அன்னார்
    உயிர்நீப்பர் மானம் வரின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தன்மயிர்த்திரளில் ஒரு மயிர் நீங்கினாலும் உயிர் வாழாத கவரிமானைப் போன்றவர், தம் மானம் அழியின் இறந்து விடுவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Like the wild ox that, of its tuft bereft, will pine away,
    Are those who, of their honour shorn, will quit the light of day.
  • Meaning
    Those who give up (their) life when (their) honour is at stake are like the yark which kills itself at the loss of (even one of) its hairs.


Post a Comment