Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0966. புகழ்இன்றால் புத்தேள்நாட்டு உய்யாதால்

0966. Pugazhindraal Puththelnaattu Uyyaathaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    மானம் (Maanam)
  • குறள்
    புகழ்இன்றால் புத்தேள்நாட்டு உய்யாதால் என்மற்று
    இகழ்வார்பின் சென்று நிலை.
  • விளக்கம்
    மானத்தை விட்டுத் தன்னை இகழ்கின்றவர்பின் சென்று நிற்பது இவ்வுலகத்தில் புகழ் உண்டாக்காது; தேவர் உலகத்துக்குச் செலுத்தாது; பின்பு ஏன் அவ்வாறு செய்ய வேண்டும்?
  • Translation
    in English
    It yields no praise, nor to the land of Gods throws wide the gate:
    Why follow men who scorn, and at their bidding wait?
  • Meaning
    Of what good is it (for the high-born) to go and stand in vain before those who revile him ? it only brings him loss of honour and exclusion from heaven.


Post a Comment