Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0957. குடிப்பிறந்தார் கண்விளங்கும் குற்றம்

0957. Kudippirandhaar Kanvilangum Kutram

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    குடிமை (Kudimai)
  • குறள்
    குடிப்பிறந்தார் கண்விளங்கும் குற்றம் விசும்பின்
    மதிக்கண் மறுப்போல் உயர்ந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    உயிர்ந்த குடியில் பிறந்தவரிடத்தில் உண்டாகும் குற்றம், வானத்திலுள்ள சந்திரனிடத்தில் உள்ள களங்கம் போல் பலர் அறிய விளங்கித் தோன்றும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The faults of men of noble race are seen by every eye,
    As spots on her bright orb that walks sublime the evening sky.
  • Meaning
    The defects of the noble will be observed as clearly as the dark spots in the moon.


Post a Comment