Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0955. வழங்குவ துள்வீழ்ந்தக் கண்ணும்

0955. Vazhanguva Thulveezhndhak Kannum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    குடிமை (Kudimai)
  • குறள்
    வழங்குவ துள்வீழ்ந்தக் கண்ணும் பழங்குடி
    பண்பில் தலைப்பிரிதல் இன்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    பழமைதொட்டு வருகின்ற உயர்ந்த குடியிலே பிறந்தவர் கொடுக்கும் பொருள் சுருங்கியபோதும் தமது உயர் குணங்களிலிருந்து நீங்க மாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though stores for charity should fail within, the ancient race
    Will never lose its old ancestral grace.
  • Meaning
    Though their means fall off, those born in ancient families, will not lose their character (for liberality).


Post a Comment