Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0951. இற்பிறந்தார் கண்அல்லது இல்லை

0951. Irpirandhaar Kanallathu Illai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    குடியியல் (Kudiyiyal) - Miscellaneous
  • அதிகாரம்
    குடிமை (Kudimai)
  • குறள்
    இற்பிறந்தார் கண்அல்லது இல்லை இயல்பாகச்
    செப்பமும் நாணும் ஒருங்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    உயர்ந்த குடியில் பிறந்தவரிடத்தல்லாமல் மற்றவரிடம் நடுவு நிலைமையும் நாணமும் இயல்பாக ஒரு சேர அமைவதில்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Save in the scions of a noble house, you never find
    Instinctive sense of right and virtuous shame combined.
  • Meaning
    Consistency (of thought, word and deed) and fear (of sin) are conjointly natural only to the highborn.


Post a Comment