Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0936. அகடாரார் அல்லல் உழப்பர்சூ

0936. Agadaaraar Allal Uzhapparsoo

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    சூது (Soothu)
    Gaming (Gambling)
  • குறள்
    அகடாரார் அல்லல் உழப்பர்சூ தென்னும்
    முகடியான் மூடப்பட் டார்.
  • விளக்கம்
    சூது என்று சொல்லப்படும் மூதேவியால் ஆட்கொள்ளப்பட்டவர், வயிறு நிறைய உண்ணப் பெற மாட்டார்; துன்பத்தை அனுபவிப்பர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Gambling's Misfortune's other name: o'er whom she casts her veil,
    They suffer grievous want, and sorrows sore bewail.
  • Meaning
    Those who are swallowed by the goddess called "gambling" will never have their hunger satisfied, but suffer the pangs of hell in the next world.


Post a Comment