Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0920. இருமனப் பெண்டிரும் கள்ளும்

0920. Irumanap Pendirum Kallum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    வரைவின் மகளிர் (Varaivin Magalir)
    Wanton Women
  • குறள்
    இருமனப் பெண்டிரும் கள்ளும் கவறும்
    திருநீக்கப் பட்டார் தொடர்பு.
  • விளக்கம்
    இருமனமுடைய விலைமாதரும், கள்ளும், சூதும் ஆகிய மூன்றும், திருமகளால் விலக்கப்பட்டவர்கள் தொடர்பு கொள்ளுதற்கு உரியவையாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Women of double minds, strong drink, and dice; to these giv'n o'er,
    Are those on whom the light of Fortune shines no more.
  • Meaning
    Treacherous women, liquor, and gambling are the associates of such as have forsaken by Fortune.


Post a Comment