Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0899. ஏந்திய கொள்கையார் சீறின்

0899. Yendhiya Kolgaiyaar Seerin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெரியாரைப் பிழையாமை (Periyaaraip Pilaiyaamai)
    Not Offending the Great
  • குறள்
    ஏந்திய கொள்கையார் சீறின் இடைமுரிந்து
    வேந்தனும் வேந்து கெடும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    உயர்ந்த கொள்கையுடையோர் சினந்தால், அரசனும் தனது இடைக்காலத்திலேயே அரசநிலை கெட்டு அழிந்துவிடுவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    When blazes forth the wrath of men of lofty fame,
    Kings even fall from high estate and perish in the flame.
  • Meaning
    If those of exalted vows burst in a rage, even (Indra) the king will suffer a sudden loss and be entirely ruined.


Post a Comment