Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0895. யாண்டுச்சென்று யாண்டும் உளராகார்

0895. Yaanduchchendru Yaandum Ularaagaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெரியாரைப் பிழையாமை (Periyaaraip Pilaiyaamai)
    Not Offending the Great
  • குறள்
    யாண்டுச்சென்று யாண்டும் உளராகார் வெந்துப்பின்
    வேந்து செறப்பட் டவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கொடிய வலிய அரசனின் பகைக்கு உள்ளானவர், எங்கே சென்றாலும் எவ்விடத்தும் பிழைத்திருக்க முடியாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who dare the fiery wrath of monarchs dread,
    Where'er they flee, are numbered with the dead.
  • Meaning
    Those who have incurred the wrath of a cruel and mighty potentate will not prosper wherever they may go.


Post a Comment