Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0893. கெடல்வேண்டின் கேளாது செய்க

0893. Kedalvendin Kelaathu Seiga

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெரியாரைப் பிழையாமை (Periyaaraip Pilaiyaamai)
    Not Offending the Great
  • குறள்
    கெடல்வேண்டின் கேளாது செய்க அடல்வேண்டின்
    ஆற்று பவர்கண் இழுக்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒருவன், தான் கெட்டுப்போக விரும்பினால் பெரியாரைக் கேளாமலே ஒரு செயலைச் செய்க. தன்னைக் கொன்றுகொள்ள விரும்பினால் வலிமையுடையவருக்குக் குற்றம் செய்ய வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who ruin covet let them shut their ears, and do despite
    To those who, where they list to ruin have the might.
  • Meaning
    If a person desires ruin, let him not listen to the righteous dictates of law, but commit crimes against those who are able to slay (other sovereigns).


Post a Comment