Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0889. எட்பக வன்ன சிறுமைத்தே

0889. Etpaga Vanna Sirumaiththe

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    உட்பகை (Utpagai)
    Enmity Within
  • குறள்
    எட்பக வன்ன சிறுமைத்தே ஆயினும்
    உட்பகை உள்ளதாங் கேடு.
  • விளக்கம்
    எள்ளின் பிளவைப் போன்ற சிறுமை உடையதாயினும், உட்பகை கேடு உள்ளதாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Though slight as shred of 'seasame' seed it be,
    Destruction lurks in hidden enmity.
  • Meaning
    Although internal hatred be as small as the fragment of the sesamum (seed), still does destruction dwell in it.


Post a Comment