Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0887. செப்பின் புணர்ச்சிபோல் கூடினும்

0887. Seppin Punarchchipol Koodinum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    உட்பகை (Utpagai)
    Enmity Within
  • குறள்
    செப்பின் புணர்ச்சிபோல் கூடினும் கூடாதே
    உட்பகை உற்ற குடி.
  • விளக்கம்
    செப்பும் அதன் மூடியும் காண்பதற்கு ஒன்றுபட்டிருப்பது போல் தோன்றினும் வேறுபட்டிருப்பது போல் உட்பகை கொண்டவர்களும் உள்ளத்தால் கூடியிருக்க மாட்டார்; பிரிந்தே இருப்பார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    As casket with its cover, though in one they live alway,
    No union to the house where hate concealed hath sway.
  • Meaning
    Never indeed will a family subject to internal hatred unite (really) though it may present an apparent union like that of a casket and its lid.


Post a Comment