Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0885. உறல்முறையான் உட்பகை தோன்றின்

0885. Uralmuraiyaan Utpagai Thondrin

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    உட்பகை (Utpagai)
    Enmity Within
  • குறள்
    உறல்முறையான் உட்பகை தோன்றின் இறல்முறையான்
    ஏதம் பலவும் தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அரசனுக்கு உறவின் முறையுடன் உட்பகை உண்டானால், அஃது இறந்துபோகுந் தன்மையுடைய குற்றம் பலவற்றையும் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Amid one's relatives if hidden hath arise,
    'Twill hurt inflict in deadly wise.
  • Meaning
    If there appears internal hatred in a (king's) family; it will lead to many a fatal crime.


Post a Comment