Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0854. இன்பத்துள் இன்பம் பயக்கும்

0854. Inbaththul Inbam Payakkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    இகல் (Igal)
  • குறள்
    இன்பத்துள் இன்பம் பயக்கும் இகலென்னும்
    துன்பத்துள் துன்பங் கெடின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    துன்பங்களுள் பெருந்துன்பமாகிய மாறுபாடு இல்லையாயின், அஃது இன்பங்களுள் மேலான இன்பத்தைக் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Joy of joys abundant grows,
    When malice dies that woe of woes.
  • Meaning
    If hatred which is the greatest misery is destroyed, it will yield the greatest delight.


Post a Comment