Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0851. இகலென்ப எல்லா உயிர்க்கும்

0851. Igalenba Ellaa Uyirkkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    இகல் (Igal)
  • குறள்
    இகலென்ப எல்லா உயிர்க்கும் பகலென்னும்
    பண்பின்மை பாரிக்கும் நோய்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எல்லா உயிர்களுக்கும் பிரித்தல் என்னும் தீய குணத்தை வளர்க்கும் நோயை, அறியுடையோர் 'பகை' (இகல்) என்று கூறுவார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Hostility disunion's plague will bring,
    That evil quality, to every living thing.
  • Meaning
    The disease which fosters the evil of disunion among all creatures is termed hatred by the wise.


Post a Comment