Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0841. அறிவின்மை இன்மையுள் இன்மை

0841. Arivinmai Inmaiyul Inmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    புல்லறிவாண்மை (Pullarivaanmai)
    Petty Conceit
  • குறள்
    அறிவின்மை இன்மையுள் இன்மை பிறிதின்மை
    இன்மையா வையா துலகு.
  • விளக்கம்
    வறுமையுள் வறுமையாவது அறிவில்லாமை; வேறு பொருள் இல்லாமையை உலகத்தவர் இல்லாமையாகக் கொள்ளார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Want of knowledge, 'mid all wants the sorest want we deem;
    Want of other things the world will not as want esteem.
  • Meaning
    The want of wisdom is the greatest of all wants; but that of wealth the world will not regard as such.


Post a Comment