Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0837. ஏதிலார் ஆரத் தமர்பசிப்பர்

0837. Yethilaar Aarath Thamarpasippar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பேதைமை (Pethaimai)
  • குறள்
    ஏதிலார் ஆரத் தமர்பசிப்பர் பேதை
    பெருஞ்செல்வம் உற்றக் கடை.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவில்லாதவன் பெருஞ்செல்வம் பெற்றால், அயலார் அதை அனுபவிக்க அவனுடைய சுற்றத்தார் பசித்திருப்பர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    When fools are blessed with fortune's bounteous store,
    Their foes feed full, their friends are prey to hunger sore.
  • Meaning
    If a fool happens to get an immense fortune, his neighbours will enjoy it while his relations starve.


Post a Comment