Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0808. கேளிழுக்கம் கேளாக் கெழுதகைமை

0808. Kelizhukkam Kelaak Kezhuthakaimai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    நட்பியல் (Natpiyal) - Alliance
  • அதிகாரம்
    பழைமை (Pazhaimai)
  • குறள்
    கேளிழுக்கம் கேளாக் கெழுதகைமை வல்லார்க்கு
    நாளிழுக்கம் நட்டார் செயின்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தமது நண்பர் செய்த பிழையைப் பிறர் சொன்னாலும் கேளாது பழைமை பாராட்டுவோருக்கு, அவர் பிழை செய்வாராயின் அந்நாள் நல்ல நாளாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    In strength of friendship rare of friend's disgrace who will not hear,
    The day his friend offends will day of grace to him appear.
  • Meaning
    To those who understand that by which they should not listen to (tales about) the faults of their friends, that is a (profitable) day on which the latter may commit a fault.


Post a Comment